I’m callin it quits

I have been working on 4 drafts of my travels from October as I left Colorado to Moab Utah and all the wonders of the Canyon Lands up to November when I reached the Coastal Bend of Texas. Every time I work on them, they get more screwed up and now they are all pretty much trash. As much as I would like to share my adventures with you, it has become such a source of frustration and stress to me that I’m calling it quits. I don’t need the stress that dealing with computers brings me. I’ve never liked them and never will…. they win and I concede.

I will always chronicle my travels and thoughts and experiences on paper with a PEN and will capture photos and videos on places and people I meet but if you want to share in them, then I suggest finding my campsite and spending a spell with me.  How could you find me you ask? Best chance, and it’s slim, is to roam around Colorado asking if anyone has seen a slighty crazy woman driving a white van called Moonbeam that’s piled high with all kinds of stuff on top.

Thank you all for traveling along with me. It’s too bad you couldn’t have been there and experienced some of the things I have over the last few years. I had high hopes this blog thing would work out but it’s not in the cards I guess. As long as I can continue to fund my travels and both mine and Moonbeams health continues, we will wander in search of new places, new people and new adventures.

I leave you with this:

“Years from now, you will be more disappointed in the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bow lines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.   Explore, Dream, Discover.”

Mark Twain

Take care and safe travels….

Rachael Kelli Darland

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patty Helsel
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 08:07:46

    I hate to hear this! I enjoy your writing and adventures. Can’t believe you let the computer win, that is not like you. I think you are just having a bad day!

    Reply

  2. Judy
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 10:05:54

    I’m so sorry to see you go. I’m in foreclosure, and one of my options, when it’s all over someday, will be to travel around in my Toyota Class C. You’ve given me a lot of hope and inspiration, and I will miss you, your wonderful writing style and those great photos.

    Reply

  3. Juliana Hughes ("Julie")
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 12:17:48

    Sorry to read that you’re not blogging anymore. Seeing your Vandwelling Woman video on youtube really inspired me to get a van and ‘fix her up’ (my way). Hope that you continue to enjoy travelling and I hope to meet you one day.
    http://PuddinInVannaWhite.wordpress.com
    Julie

    Reply

  4. The Good Luck Duck
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 14:54:49

    I’m truly sorry to hear this. But, if the telling isn’t as much fun as the doing, something’s gotta give. I’m glad we got to find you while we could.

    Roxanne

    Reply

  5. Trish
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 23:38:53

    Rach–

    I’ll miss your infrequent-enough-to-be-insightful comments.
    But I’m with you: paper & pen any day over LINUX, UNIX, html and codes.
    No one ever said “the hard drive is mightier than the sword.”

    Take care.

    Reply

  6. TexCyn
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 18:12:34

    😦 Noooo, don’t leave! :-((( But I do understand. But I love your blog. boohoo!
    Safe travels

    Reply

  7. TK
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 11:15:53

    Where ever you are, Rachael, I hope the road is as beautiful as your words. I’m sorry I missed you.
    God Speed!

    Reply

  8. LG61820
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 17:51:57

    I keep hoping and checking and waiting for you to have something more to say. . .

    Reply

  9. LG61820
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 20:37:06

    Still checking in from time to time hoping you have come back! LG

    Reply

  10. The Good Luck Duck
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 11:30:48

    Hi Kelli. Hoping you’re “out there” enjoying the out there.

    Roxi and Annie

    Reply

  11. Renee Blanchard
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 10:42:38

    Seester – I am going to nag you into continuing to update this blog. You have too many adventures that the rest of us only dream about. Why not share them??

    Reply

Leave a comment