Blazing new trails across new roads, Early Oct.

When I left my camp site in Rocky Mt. Nat. Park, I didn’t have a clue where I would spend the night. Having a detailed plan like that adds to the fun, right?  I thought if all other overnight sleeping options failed, I could always spend the night at the Wal-Mart in Glenwood Springs. Just guessing, I thought Glenwood might be around a 100 mile drive. But if I can’t find a place to slip into for the night in this kind of open country, then I shouldn’t be doing what I’m doing. My choice of roads were all new to me across this part of Colorado.  My route followed the Colorado River by way of dirt and gravel roads usually not on any Wal-Mart atlas or most State maps.

View around County Rd Something or Other

Just before I embarked on county road something or other, I drive through the less than one horse town of  Hot Sulphur Springs. I stopped and inquired about the Springs only to ascertain enjoying the hot springs requires two suits. One is your birthday suit and the other is one from a store. Since everything in Moonbeam is space sensitive and must be dual purpose, I can only travel with one suit. Need I say more? I wasn’t allowed to soak.

My quiet peaceful camp by the river

None the less, as I was leaving town, I spied this little park along the Colorado River lined with majestic huge old cottonwoods and willows. I spotted a couple of “my kind of people” along the river with their tents and eclectic style of abodes. Around I spun on the highway to check out this enticing spot. I quickly determine from established campers that this city owned park is free.  It’s early afternoon and this place is nice so I decide to call it home for the night.

Being early like it was, I felt like setting up my kitchen and doing a little something special for dinner. Hummm, a beer sounds nice, back to town I go. After several passes along the three block long business district, I find there’s no place to buy a beer. Strange town I think to myself… need suits to soak and no beer….

Preparing dinner without cold beer, challenging but doable

I picked this camp site well away from other campers so I could run my generator without guilt. Dinner is well on its way and I’m reading a mystery novel and sipping a martini ( no ice please, since I don’t have any) when I hear this Gawd awful roar coming around the river bend. Holly crap! I’m camped within mere FEET of the train tracks!!Four huge screaming engines roar past with each one’s whistle going full-out! It’s a coal train that takes what seems like 30 minutes to pass. There are hundreds of cars rumbling past with the wheels screeching and clacking. Click-clack,click-clack,click clack…. over and over. Half way through, another ear-splitting roar comes by as the two middle engines pass. Finllay its over as the string of rear engines roar by. Silence returns. Whow! Now I see why no one is at this end of the campground. And I was worrying about bothering my neighbors with my tiny generator noise!

As I later discover while trying to get just a few minutes of sleep, these trains rumble and roar through every couple of hours.  Before morning, I could tell by the way the bottles in my spice racks shook and rattled whether the train cars were full or empty.

Next morning as I started cooking my usual breakfast of potatoes, bacon and a fried egg, and more than my usual amount of coffee, it was very clear to me why the little town of Hot Sulphur Springs decided it best not to charge to use their peaceful campground down be the river. (And did I mention the tracks?)

No, those aren't bay leaves in my breakfast

 This is what I love about my days on the road, I never know where I will be spending the night or what wild and crazy things might happen along the way. And sometimes the challenges one encounters… like keeping the leaves out of my food.

Leave a Reply

