Yep, sure ’nuff was cold

Last night across most of Colorado, the temps dropped to some of the coldest of the season with teens and single digits. As I snuggled down into my pile of covers with a hot mug of tea beside me I couldn’t help but think about all the people who are homeless and sleeping as best they can outside in the cold. As for me, my little caccoon had warmed from a crisp 37* to a near balmy 56* by bed time around 11 pm or so.

Have I told you about my 80-40 rule yet?  In general, the rule states; When the temperatures exceed 80* too far or fall below 40* too much, it’s time to get the Atlas out and fix the problem. This simple plan seemed the best solution to the delema of not having any heating or cooling systems in Moonbeam. I am now convinced it’s time to get the map out again.

In the past with the cold weather curtains in place I can expect the inside temp to be 10 -15* warmer than outside temps. If that was the case last night the low was around 15*.  At the first signs of daybreak, I peeked out from under the covers to note the air around me was an uncomfortable 26*. I quickly lit the fire under the coffee pot and returned to my covers and waited for the sounds and smell of perking coffee.

My goal was achieved. I set a new low temp record for sleeping in Moonbeam. A more sane person would be asking themselves right about now, “Why on Earth would you want to do that?”. My answer? I think there is a desire within me to always test myself… to push things just a little further… find new limits. I reflect back on things I’ve done and see this common thread laced in and around the fabric that makes me me. (no grammatical corrections, please)

But for now I am glad to be back inside my friend’s house where it’s warm and cozy.  Here’s a thought; Take a look in the hall closet and see if there might be a coat or two you haven’t worn for a year or two.  Is there an old sleeping bag or winter boots in the basement? Now is a good time to make a difference in someone’s life tonight.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 10:39:54

    Glad to see you post! I just clicked on building Moonbeam again… just outstanding!

    I travel in my van and hope to leave late next week for the Texas coast!

    C’mon on down! it fits your 80 – 40 rule 😉 ….

    And you are so right with the homeless. heartbreaking… can not fathom sleeping outside in 40º weather much less any lower… sigh

    Reply

  2. TexCyn
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 11:51:17

    Oh good, glad to hear you are going to go south! I wish I could join up with you & Carolyn, but I’m slated for surgery on the 16th & will have several weeks of recovery. Drats! But yes, head to warmer weather!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

