I Wonder…. Sept. 30, 2011

I Wonder…   Do you see what I see?  It is totally clear to me but I travel with a group of these sitting on my dash so I may be biased. But that is a story for another day.

The place where I have camped, watched the Elk and hiked for the last few days is called Moranne Park. You saw the pictures of it when I filmed the Elk.  At the very upper end where it all starts, I found a herd of cow Elk gently grazing among the willows.  I have just recently taken up learning how to play the Native American flute and seeing the cows so close up inspired me to play a song for them just as maybe some unknown Native American might have done hundreds of years ago.

As I slowly followed them playing and watching and feeling very connected in a primal way to all around me, I found myself off the trail and climbing across rocks and boulders. I sat there at the head of Morrane Park in a private quite moment with Nature surrounding me  in all its glory.  As I turned to leave, I for the first time, saw this amazing stone icon who has for thousands of years solemnly watched over this peaceful Valley.

Do you see it too?

I Wonder….

How many other souls through time have sat here in this very place and said hello to this wonderful stoic figure?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 18:15:22

    Is the flute difficult to learn?

    Reply

  2. Juanita
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 19:25:47

    I do see it but maybe I’m biased also.

    Reply

  3. Me and My Dog
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 19:37:54

    Love that rock, gave me a good laugh!

    Reply

  4. rach2bfree
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 20:24:53

    Kim, I expected it to be difficult but with a few hours of learning to control finger placement, it actually was pretty easy. There are five hole and six hole style flutes. I suggest the five for starters. We’re talkin just five notes here. Remember that the Native Americans had no written music. They played from the heart. They responded with their flute to what ever moved them to express themselves through music. At times I feel like playing to a soaring bird I’m watching dancing across invisible currents of air and that has its own feel. When I find a Kiva long left by peoples of some ancient place, my mood through my music is more somber and reverent. Sitting beside a stream compels me to find a different song, something bright and sparkly. It’s from the heart and what it feels at the moment. For me, I find comfort in playing.So much so that I’m buying another flute this weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

