Rocky Mnt. Nat. Park, Sept 29. 2011

As of yesterday 2 pm, I still had no firm plan as to when I would head west. Like a bolt of lightning, I was struck with the urge to bolt myself….west. So I did.

By 5 pm I had a campsite in Moraine Campground in Rocky Mountain National Park and was sitting by the meadow watching the Elk doing their thing.

View from my Bedroom

View from my bedroom

 

Morning Visitor

 

Even though most of the time they are quite distant, it’s wonderful to watch and listen to the Bulls posture, boast, bluff and sometimes fight. They go to great lengths to steal each others cows.

Alpha Bull and his herd of cowsBuggling a warning to another Bull

                 

Hey! You talkin to ME??

Not always are they far away! I was walking back to camp when this guy runs up next to me. Great shot I’m thinking!! Little did I know there was another huge Bull just across the road behind me and they were ready to fight. It would have been a great shot but I was nothing but butt and elbows running the other way!

(Put in pic of huge Elk)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexCyn
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 11:09:59

    Haha, love your description of what you would have been! What a wonderful life though huh?

    Reply

  2. The Good Luck Duck
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 13:12:34

    Butt and elbows! Haha! Well-said.

    Roxanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

