Reality check moment, Sept. 26

I Wonder…..

I’m setting in the waiting area of Grease Monkey while the crew is changing Moonbeam’s oil. As I sit here I think; I wonder if this could be Moonbeam’s last oil change. I have to face the fact that she wont last forever. The new windshield sticker will read : Next service at 217,443 miles.

I know the day will come when I am sitting in another waiting area and this grease covered guy comes through the door and says, “Miss, I am afraid I have bad news. There is nothing more we can do.”

As I pull the long steep grade up to the 12,000+ ft summit of Trail Ridge Road, I find myself stopping every few miles whether I have a reason or not just so Moonbeam can take a breather.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 19:05:07

    aw… an attachment to our mobile homes is very real. Good ol Moonbeam 😉

    Reply

  2. Renee
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 20:06:57

    waaaahhhh! 😦 Like all of those dear to us, you wish they could last forever….. hang in there Moonbeam, you still have lots of adventures ahead!

    Reply

  3. TexCyn
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 11:11:45

    I hope Moonbeam continues to be a good girl for you! But if you need to upgrade in the future, you have the know-how process of doing that. You are inspiring 🙂

    Reply

  4. rach2bfree
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 14:14:57

    The thought of doing another build out exhausts me just thinking about it. I completed Moonbeam in about 4 months working every day, all day. When the motor dies, I just might put Moonbeam non a trailer and haul it around that way!

    Reply

  5. Trish
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 16:01:33

    Always be kind to your transmission. Hills are hell.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

