Helping hands…

Still water runs deep….

This is a human interest story centered around this most unique community of Wall-Mart refugees.

I have stayed in dozens of Wall-Mart parking lots across several states and never have I witnessed anything like this one. We are all gathered for various reasons in the outer lot of the Loveland Co. Wall-Mart on Hwy. 34. About dark everyone starts drifting in, some won’t be here until very late.  A few never leave for the obvious reasons of  having no place or reason to go or they can’t afford the gas to. From my view from my usual spot, I can see a dozen or so people I know are living out of their cars, pickups or vans. I know four here are women and there are two families. I see four vans, five cars, two pick-ups and two well used tiny motor homes.

I have been here about two weeks and have met most of the group. We park next to each other in our same spots just like we owned a house in a neighborhood. We visit, share what’s needed and help where and when we can. We ask about each others day to find out if that job prospect came through or if they had heard from a sick relative.

Last year I was here for over two weeks in Late October and experienced the same atmosphere and wonderful people. When I left, it was like leaving family. Just last week as I was driving downtown, this car pulls up beside me and is honking like crazy at me. This woman is hanging out of the window waving and telling me to pull over….What the hell?? I’m thinking. Then I recognized her from the Wall-Mart family last October. They saw Moonbeam and remembered it and flagged me down to say hello. How cool is that!! Good news is their life is better now and they have an apartment.

What really prompted this story was what happened to me this afternoon. I pulled into my favorite spot only to find the sun blasting through the trees at me. Just behind me a row was cool comfortable shade. I back up and back right into one of the concrete bases for the light poles. Not very hard but enough to bend my rear ladder (which I need) and wrinkle the door a little. After assessing the damage, I think I can fix it, no problem. With a couple of tie down straps, I start applying a pull against the bent ladder. Cool! Looking good….just a couple more tugs. POP!! I broke my ladder completely into!

I wanted to scream, I kinda did cuss, but most of all, I wanted to cry. A new ladder is about $100. Yesterday I spent $120 having a custom bracket made for my ladder to allow me to carry my little generator. So I can just see the new ladder not being the same and the money spent on the bracket wasted. This was not the way I wanted my day to end. I’m setting on the pavement staring at my broken ladder when this voice from behind me says “Looks like you could use a hand.”

I turn and see the same guy I gave a couple gallons of gas to a few days ago. Him and his girlfriend and her son are all living a little SUV of some kind. It was the day the food bank gives out food and they didn’t think they had enough gas to get there and back so I gave them my generator gas with no pay backs allowed. He looked things over then went to get a couple other guys living and they came up with a way to patch up the ladder. We all worked on it for a couple of hours and by golly, I think their idea is going to work.

Total strangers we all were at one time or another when we each pulled in here looking for a place to call home. Strangers no more. Sometimes those who have so little to give end up giving the most….They give themselves.

Next time you see someone needing help please consider doing so. Be one of those people who are willing to give for no reason…be willing to understand.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 11:56:22

    wow – awesome story…..thanks for sharing. Hope your ladder is fixed and you are on your way to happier adventures. love ya, sis!

    Reply

  2. Carolyn
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 12:58:58

    Glad to see you blog 😉

    Great story

    Reply

  3. TexCyn
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 13:07:09

    Wow, awesome! It’s so easy to ignore others, but this is a great story of humanity. I’m so glad you shared it. The world needs more like you & I hope the ladder holds! Mine deteriorated & started to break. I didn’t know why until we took it off & found the brackets that held it were rusted on the insides & making the structure of the ladder break at various points. Ended up getting a new one. The new one didn’t fit like the old one, so had to take it in to get it installed, which was the cost of the ladder! But in my case, they did some damages to my RV. I could fix them, but after complaints to them over it they didn’t charge me for the ladder installation.

    Reply

  4. Tesaje
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 15:34:46

    It’s always been my policy to help another whenever I safely can. And then when I need some help, there is usually someone there who will help me. Doesn’t matter if it is the same person or completely different. The world just works a lot better with this policy instead of “screw you, I got mine.” Lovely story.

    Reply

  5. Kim
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 07:05:12

    So glad to see you posting. You have a story to tell!

    Did you meet Jennifer – she of “Living in my Car” fame? I seem to remember you and she met up and she did a video. If that was you, I love that video. Would you consider posting it here so everyone can see how ingeniously you modified Moonbeam?

    Thanks for sharing with us! Kim

    Reply

    • rach2bfree
      Oct 02, 2011 @ 18:41:11

      The links to the two videos Jennifer made and poasted are under the comments section for “Building of Moonbeam. I tried to get them here for viewing but no luck yet.
      Be safe….
      Rach

      Reply

  6. The Good Luck Duck
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 07:46:10

    Great story. Thanks for the pause for thought.

    I’m glad you’re blogging!

    Roxanne

    Reply

  7. Me and My Dog
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 10:08:47

    This is a great story, people helping people, with no thought of anything in return. But you can see the Karma working here. I wish we had a lot more of this in our world today. As Renee said, thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

